The Clerk's Office will be closed on Monday, May 27th, for Memorial Day

Is your court hearing being held via Zoom? Learn more about Remote Court Hearings by Zoom

County Civil

Overview


The goal of the County Civil/Small Claims department is to provide helpful information to all of our customers. Our hope is that the information provided is informative. If you require additional information; please contact us. A list of our locations can be found in the Contact Information section on this page.

The County Civil/Small Claims department handles all summary procedure cases also known as small claims cases. In these types of cases, the damages sought range from $.01 to $8,000.00. This department also handles civil matters that range from $8,000.01 to $50,000.00; as well as, most disputes between landlords and tenants.

Some legal matters processed by the County Civil/Small Claims department are listed below:

This is a partial list and in no way defines the entire scope of the County Civil/Small Claims Division.

  • Evictions
  • Declaratory judgments
  • Foreclosures (up to $50,000.00)
  • Negligence
  • Breach of Contract
  • Damages
  • Motor vehicle repair & recovery issues
  • Title issues
  • Foreign Judgments (up to $50,000.00)
  • Other civil matters

County Civil/Small Claims is also known as the “People's Court”, and legal representation is not required. If your legal matter is one of a more complex nature, you should seek legal advice on your rights and obligations.

Refer to Fees and Costs for Valid Forms of Payment methods accepted at all County Civil Courthouse locations.

The Clerk’s staff is unable to provide any legal advice. However, you may seek legal assistance from a local law library, Legal Aid, or the Florida bar referral service. For more information, refer to Forms and Self Help.

County Civil Filing


The information provided in this section is for County Civil disputes that range from $8,000.01 to $50,000.00, and filed pursuant to Chapter 34, Florida Statutes.

Although an attorney is not required to file a County Civil case, you may choose to seek legal guidance in these matters through a local law library, Legal Aid, or the Florida Bar referral service.

The Clerk’s Office is unable to provide any legal advice, or assistance. As a Pro Se litigant, or self-represented party, it is helpful to educate yourself on the rules of court, the proper preparation of legal filings, and service requirements.

For more information, refer to the Self Help Equal Access Center.

Evictions


Eviction is a legal dispute between a landlord and tenant due to non-payment of monies owned (rent) for the residential property. For more information, refer to Florida Statutes, Chapter 83, Landlord actions.

Deputy clerks are not attorneys and unable to prepare any forms regarding evictions; however, they can provide ministerial guidance and procedural information in regard to filing.

A Tenant Eviction Forms Package is available for purchase online, or by coming in-person to any County Civil courthouse location.

For more information, refer to the Information Sheet for Filing Evictions

Eviction Steps:


Step 1 — Issue Notice

Pursuant to Florida Statues Chapter 83.56 a notice is required prior to filing an eviction. Below are a variety of notices depending on the individual circumstance:

  • Three (3) day notice for non-payment of rent: The landlord must provide a three (3) day notice of eviction, informing the tenant(s) that he or she must pay the rent due or move out of the premises. When calculating time, do not include the day of delivery, weekends, or holidays. Refer to F.S. 83.56 - Termination of rental agreement for details.
  • Seven (7) day notice for non-payment of rent is given when the rent is due on a week-to-week payment schedule to the landlord and the landlord wishes to terminate the rental agreement for non-compliance. Refer to F.S. 83.56 - Termination of rental agreement for details.
  • Fifteen (15) day notice for non-payment of rent is given when the rent is due monthly and the landlord wishes to terminate the rental agreement for non-compliance. Refer to F.S. 83.56 - Termination of rental agreement for details.
  • Seven (7) day notice of non-compliance for issues other than rent:

This notice must be given by the landlord for other non-compliance issues such as but not limited to: unauthorized pets, guests, or vehicles, parking violations etc. Refer to F.S. 83.56 - Termination of rental agreement for details.

Step 2 — Fill out Forms

The next step requires the forms for evictions to be completed by the landlord, including the proper notice, or a copy of any other documentation (e.g: copy of a lease) that supports the claim for eviction. Refer to F.S. 83.56 - Termination of rental agreement for details.

For your convenience, we offer self-service forms.

SELF SERVICE FORMS
Step 3 — Service the Tenant

Service is required on the tenant; the tenant then must comply with the instructions on the summons.

Step 4 — Judgment & Writ of Possession

The Judgment & Writ of Possession process are the final steps in the eviction process.

Court Registry


The Court Registry is a depository of funds for which the Clerk of the County and Circuit Court is custodian, pending withdrawal of funds, pursuant to the proper authority. All deposits placed into and disbursed from the Court Registry are authorized through Florida Statutes, Rules of Procedure or by case related court orders. Deposits into the Court Registry can be in the form of Cash, Cashier’s Check, Bank Official Check, Money Order, or Attorney Trust Account Check. No personal checks are accepted. Court Registry also accepts Cash and Surety Bonds. Please contact the Court Registry Division to determine the applicable deposit type.

The processing of court registry transactions consist of:

  • Intake and issuance of all applicable documents.
  • Intake, monitoring, and disbursements of all deposits.
  • Intake of applicable Clerk’s Fees.
  • Disbursement of earned interest.
Auto Repair Shop

Florida Statute 559.917 allows a bond to be posted with the Clerk of the Court to obtain the release of a motor vehicle, being held by a repair shop, for non-payment of services rendered. Before an auto can be removed from an auto repair shop the following must occur; post a cash bond in the amount of the final bill, pay $13.00 to transfer the lien, and pay Clerk fees based on the amount of the final bill (3% of the first $500.00 and 1.5% of each remaining $100.00).

The same procedure can be applied to all other personal property under Section 713.76 Florida Statutes.

Transfer Claim, Lien, or Mechanic's Lien to Cash or Surety Bond

To transfer a Claim, Lien, or Mechanic's Lien to cash or surety bond, you must contact:

  • Broward County Records Division
    Governmental Center, Room 114
    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
    (954) 357-7270

Satisfaction of Judgment

Per Florida Statute 55.10 - Transferring a Judgment Lien to a Cash or Surety Bond & Florida Statute 55.141 – Satisfaction of Judgment; a legible recorded copy of the Judgment indicating the Bond or Satisfaction amount must be filed in the Clerk division in which the case is filed. If the case is filed in the Circuit Civil division, you may contact the Court Registry Clerk at:

  • (954) 831-5659
An Order of the Court is needed to interplead funds.

Foreclosures Sales


Online Registration

To participate in the sale, bidders must register at www.broward.realforeclose.com to get a Username, Password, and bidder number and place a valid deposit to be considered. All bidders must be registered prior to the sale. Bidders are responsible for conducting their own research about the property.

Deposit

Prior to participating in the sale, the bidder will be required to place a deposit equal to 5% of the estimated highest bid for each property they anticipate winning at the sale. Deposit funds must be received no later than 3:00pm EST the previous business day of the auction. Deposits can be made via wire transfer, or in-person, in the form of case, cashier's check, or money order at at the courthouse address listed under the Contact Informaton section on this page.

For wire transfers, please instruct your bank to include the Bidder Number on the wire information. Wiring instructions are available on the Real Auction website.

Payment Information

Section 7 of Senate Bill 2506 has amended Florida Statute 45.035 (3). The $70.00 service fee for conducting an electronic sale shall be assessed as costs and paid when filing for an electronic sale date. Each time the sale is scheduled or re-scheduled, the Plaintiff is required to pay the $70.00 service fee. The payment can be made via the e-Portal. If you are the successful bidder for a property foreclosure sale, the balance of the final bid amount, plus the court registry fees (3% of the first $500 and each subsequent $100 at 1.5%), must be received by the Clerk’s Office no later than 12:00 pm EST the next business day following the sale, or by the deadline stated in the judgment.

Accepted forms of payment are wire transfer, cash, cashier’s checks or money order. You will also owe Documentary “doc” stamps on the amount of your final bid. This fee is pursuant to Florida Statute 201.01 and is owed to the Broward County Board of County Commissioner. Doc Stamps on Titles and other instruments related to real property (rounded to the nearest $100.00) are calculated at $.70 per $100.00. You will receive an email regarding the requirements for payment of Documentary Stamps.

If the successful bidder does not make the final payment by the prescribed time, then their deposit will be forfeited. The Clerk’s Office will assess a non-refundable registry fee and other costs (e.g., re-publication cost) from the forfeited deposit. Any remaining funds shall be applied toward the final judgment, as stated in FS 45.31.

Pursuant to Chapter 28 and Chapter 45, Florida Statutes, the Clerk shall receive certain service charges related to the judicial sales procedure. A refund of the service fees is not generally permitted under Florida Law. The remaining funds may be requested as a refund. Any request to the Court for a refund of the service charges must be served upon the Clerk’s Office as an interested party at GeneralCounsel@browardclerk.org

Objections

Any objections to the sale must be filed within 10 days after the filing of the certificate of sale.

Please refer to www.broward.realforeclose.com for further information regarding the foreclosure process.

Live Sales

If you are a plaintiff or plaintiff’s attorney in a foreclosure case that requires a live sale, that language must be listed in your final judgment. If your final judgment has already been entered, you will need to provide the Clerk’s Office with a court order directing the Clerk to conduct a live sale for that case. The sale will be conducted in the courthouse lobby located at the Broward County Central Courthouse address location listed on the right side of this page.

Small Claims


A small claims suit is an action for damages where the amount in controversy does not exceed the sum of $8,000.00 exclusive of costs, interest, and Attorney’s fee.

Any person 18 years or older or any individual doing business as a company can file a small claims case. A parent or guardian may file on behalf of a minor child. An Attorney is not required; however, some Judges may require a corporation to be represented by an Attorney.

Information on Small Claims Case

Administrative Orders



Local Administrative Orders


AO-2021-35-CO (Amendment 2) - Establishing Locations for the Filing of County Civil Actions and the Hearing of Small Claims Civil Actions

AO-2021-6-CO - Referral of Residential Eviction Cases To Mediation

AO-2017-79-CO - Regarding the Transfer of Certain Personal Injury Protection County Court Civil Actions

AO-2018-10-GEN - Regarding Provision of ADA Accommodations

Forms and Self Help


The Clerk’s Office is unable to provide legal advice or assistance. As a Pro Se litigant, or self-represented party, it is helpful to educate yourself on the court rules, proper legal filings, and service requirements.

To assist you, below you will find forms and legal resources. For further assistance, please visit the Self Help Equal Access Center - Law Library, where Law Librarians are available to assist you in locating forms and legal resources.

SELF HELP EQUAL ACCESS CENTER - Law Library
  • Self Help Equal Access Center - Law Library
    Central Courthouse
    Judicial Complex, North Wing

  • 1st Floor, Room: 1800
    201 S.E. 6th Street
    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
     Directions to this Location

  •  954-831-6226

  • Monday - Friday
    7:30 am - 3:30 pm
    Excluding Courthouse Holidays

Visit our Law Library located on the first floor of the North Wing of the Courthouse to find:

  • Additional forms including Family, Landlord/Tenant, Criminal, Probate and Guardianship, Traffic, and much more
  • Photocopy machines, computers, and Wi-Fi
  • Print materials, online databases and resources, self-help publications, Westlaw and Lexis
  • Comfortable, quiet work areas
  • Law Librarians available to direct you to resources related to your legal information needs

Fees and Costs


VALID FORMS OF PAYMENT — Cash, Cashier’s Check, Money Order, Attorney's Check, or American Express, Discover, MasterCard, or Visa credit cards. (Proper identification is required when paying in person by credit card.)

NO PERSONAL CHECKS ARE ACCEPTED.

ATTENTION ATTORNEYS — Attorney’s trust account checks must be imprinted with the words “Trust Account” or “IOLTA”.

Pursuant to F.S. 57.082 - Determination of civil indigent status. If you qualify for civil indigence, the filing, and summons fees are waived; other cost and fees may not be waived. If you are determined not to be indigent, fees are due at the time of filing.


County Civil Filing Fees

Claims up to $100.00 $55.00
Claims of more than $100, but not more than $500 $80.00
Claims of more than $500, but not more than $2,500 $175.00
Claims of more than $2,500, but not more than $15,000 $300.00
Claims of more than $15,000, but not more than $30,000 $400.00
Claims of more than $30,000, but not more than $50,000 $400.00
Removal of Tenant Actions $185.00
Chapter 82 - Unlawful Detainer $300.00
For all claims of not more than $1,000 filed simultaneously with an action for replevin of property that is the subject of the claim $130.00
For the filing of any cross-claim, counterclaim or third party complaint in excess of $2,500, but not more than $15,000 $295.00
For the filing of any cross-claim, counterclaim, or third party complaint in excess of $15,000, but not more than $50,000 $395.00
Issuance of a summons, per summons $10.00
For all cases in excess of 5 defendants, the regular filing fee plus, per defendant $2.50
Re-open case fee for each pleading in a “closed” case that requires Judicial action-claims of not more than $500.00 $25.00
Re-open case fee for each pleading in a “closed” case that requires Judicial action-claims exceeding $500.00 $50.00
Writ fee (garnishment, replevin, attachment, distress) $85.00
Service by registered mail (small claims only, FL resident only) per defendant $9.00

County Civil Miscellaneous Charges

Photocopying of public records, per page $1.00
Record search-per year $2.00
Certification of copies of public or official documents filed in the Clerk’s office $2.00
Verifying any document presented for certification and prepared by someone other than the clerk $3.50
Preparing exemplification certificate, certificate of non-suit, including signing & sealing $7.00
Subpoena fee (sign and seal) $2.00
Issuing execution & other enforcement process-foreign judgment $42.00
Attorney appearing Pro Hac Vice $100.00
Approving surety bond $8.50
Sealing of court file or expunging of any record $42.00

County Civil Additional Fees

Writ fee (garnishment, attachment, replevin and distress) $85.00
Garnishment answer fee $103.00
Fee for issuing each summons $10.00
Fee for issuing each subpoena $2.00
For the filing of any cross-claim, counterclaim, or third party complaint in excess of $2,500, but not more than $15,000 $295.00
For the filing of any cross-claim, counterclaim, or third party complaint in excess of $15,000, but not more than $50,000 $395.00
Foreign Judgment Writ Fee $42.00
Fee for Sealing of Court File or Expunging of any record $42.00
Bond Approval Fee $8.50
Each defendant in excess of five (5) on a case $2.50

COURT RECORDS REQUEST SELF SERVICE FORMS FORM DOWNLOADS E-FILING

Contact Information

  • Central Courthouse
    Judicial Complex, West Building
    (County Civil Central)

  • 201 S.E. 6th Street
    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
     Directions To This Location

  • 3rd Floor, Room: 03170

  •  954-831-5622

  • Monday - Friday
    8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

    Excluding Holidays
  • North Regional Courthouse
    (County Civil North)

  • 1600 West Hillsboro Boulevard
    Deerfield Beach, FL 33442
     Directions To This Location

  • Room: 160

  •  954-831-1209

  • Monday - Friday
    8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

    Excluding Holidays
  • South Regional Courthouse
    (County Civil South)

  • 3550 Hollywood Boulevard
    Hollywood, FL 33021
     Directions To This Location

  • Room: 100

  •  954-831-0353

  • Monday - Friday
    8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

    Excluding Holidays
  • West Regional Courthouse
    (County Civil West)

  • 100 North Pine Island Road
    Plantation, FL 33324
     Directions To This Location

  • Room: 170

  •  954-831-2339

  • Monday - Friday
    8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

    Excluding Holidays