The Clerk's Office will be closed on Monday, September 26th, for Rosh Hashanah

Is your court hearing being held via Zoom? Learn more about Remote Court Hearings by Zoom

Marriage Licenses

Overview


PLEASE ADVISE THE CLERK IF YOU ARE EXEMPT UNDER
FLORIDA STATUTE 119.071

When applying for a marriage license, both parties, age 18 and over, must be present.

A Florida marriage license allows a couple to get married anywhere in Florida, regardless of the county the license was purchased from. If you are getting married outside of Florida, obtain the marriage license from the state where you will be married.

State of Florida residents have the option of attending a premarital course from a registered provider, or waiting a 3-day mandatory time period before the marriage license becomes effective. An Online Premarital Course Provider Directory is available to assist you in locating a premarital course provider (see clerk for certificate requirements), or you will find a copy of this registry at any marriage service location. Non-Florida residents are exempt from any marriage license waiting period.

Marriage License Identification Requirements:

A valid federal or state government photo identification card is required and must provide the correct legal name, date of birth and signature of the applicant.

Types of photo identification cards accepted are:

  • Driver License (U.S. State or Government)
  • Passport
  • U.S. Military identification
  • State Identification Card (U.S. State or Government)
  • Alien Registration Card

In accordance with State of Florida Statute, any person who has been issued a Social Security number shall provide their social security number during the marriage license application process. [Copies of the social security card are not needed, only the social security card number.] Any person who is not a citizen of the U.S. may provide either a Social Security number or an Alien Registration number, if one has been issued. If neither has been issued, another form of ID may be required.

Other helpful information:

  • Blood tests are not required.
  • You do not need to be a resident of this county or the State of Florida to obtain a Marriage license.
  • Marriage licenses are for use within the State of Florida for sixty (60) days from the effective date.
  • Prior to obtaining a marriage license, both parties must sign an affidavit indicating they have read the Family Law Handbook, which is available as an online resource through The Florida Bar Family Law Section in either English or Spanish. The Family Law Handbook is also available for viewing in the Clerk of Courts Marriage and One-Stop courthouse service locations.
  • If either applicant has been previously married, the exact date of the last divorce, death, or annulment must be provided.
  • If you have one, or more child(ren) together, who were born in the State of Florida, you must complete the Affirmation of Common Child(ren) Born in Florida form.

To expedite the Marriage License application process, complete, print, and bring the Marriage License Online Pre-Application, to any Broward County Marriage License office location listed on this page.

Requirements for under-aged marriage license applicants

Applicants who are at least 17 years of age:

In addition to the above listed requirements, the following documents must be presented when one or both of the applicants are within this age bracket:

Any applicant under the age of eighteen (18) and at least seventeen (17) years of age must have the consent of both parents, or a legal guardian. If custody of such minor has been granted to one parent, original proof must be provided. You may obtain consent forms from this office. If one parent is deceased, a certified copy of the death certificate is required. Proof of age and parents identity is required. This may be done with a certified copy of the person’s birth certificate. If the parent's names do not match, additional proof may be required.

Additionally, a person that is at least 17 years of age may marry only if the other party is no more than two years older.

Applicants under 17 years of age: Per F.S. 741.04, Issuance of Marriage License we are prohibited from issuing a license to any person under 17 years of age.

ALL UNDERAGE APPLICATIONS ARE PROCESSED AT THE BROWARD COUNTY COURTHOUSE IN FORT LAUDERDALE, ROOM 02460.

Marriage License Application


Couples wishing to get married in Florida may apply for a license online or in-person at one of our office locations.

Both parties must apply at the same time (whether in-person at one of our locations or applying online through a video conference).

- Apply In-Person at any Marriage License Office Location

Prior to obtaining a marriage license, both parties must sign an affidavit indicating they have read the Family Law Handbook, which is available as an online resource through The Florida Bar Family Law Section in either English or Spanish. The Family Law Handbook is also available for viewing at any of the Marriage or One-Stop courthouse service locations listed below.

To assist in expediting the Marriage License application process, please complete, print, and bring the Marriage License Online Pre-Application, to any of the Marriage or One-Stop courthouse service locations listed below.


Walk-Ins are Welcome


All Walk-Ins are welcomed! An appointment is not necessary. Just visit any of the Marriage or One-Stop courthouse service locations listed below:

  • Central Courthouse
    Midrise Building
    (Marriage Central)

  • 540 SE 3rd Avenue
    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
     Directions To This Location

  • 2nd Floor, Room: 02460

  •  954-831-7283

  • Monday - Friday
    8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

    Excluding Holidays
  • North Regional Courthouse
    (Marriage North)

  • 1600 West Hillsboro Boulevard
    Deerfield Beach, FL 33442
     Directions To This Location

  • Room: 160

  •  954-831-1453

  • Monday - Friday
    8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

    Excluding Holidays
  • South Regional Courthouse
    (Marriage South)

  • 3550 Hollywood Boulevard
    Hollywood, FL 33021
     Directions To This Location

  • Room: 160

  •  954-831-0320

  • Monday - Friday
    8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

    Excluding Holidays
  • West Regional Courthouse
    (Marriage West)

  • 100 North Pine Island Road
    Plantation, FL 33324
     Directions To This Location

  • Room: 180

  •  954-831-6528

  • Monday - Friday
    8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

    Excluding Holidays

- Skip A Trip To Our Office

Apply for your marriage license entirely online. To begin the process, please answer a few questions. If you use this option, you will be required to upload a copy of both spouse's identification and a copy of the premarital course provider completion certificate (if you took the premarital course).

After applying for your license online, we will email you with the instructions on how to schedule an appointment for the video conference and pay for your license online.

Marriage Ceremony


The following officials are authorized by Florida law to perform marriage ceremonies:

  • Ordained clergy
  • Elders in communion with a church
  • All Florida judges
  • Florida Clerks of Court and their deputized employees
  • Notaries Public of the state of Florida

Once issued, a marriage license is valid in any Florida county for 60 days. After the marriage ceremony, the original marriage license must be signed by the officiant and returned to the Central Courthouse Marriage Division within 10 days. It will be recorded, and a certified copy will be sent to the address provided on the application.

Please remember that there may be a waiting period before you can get married. Please view our Frequently Asked Questions for more information.

A Civil Marriage ceremony can be performed in one of our Marriage Division locations after the license is effective for an additional cost. No witnesses are required for a Civil Marriage ceremony, however they are recommended.

- In-Person Marriage Ceremony

A Civil Marriage ceremony can be performed in one of our Marriage Division locations after the license is effective for an additional cost. No witnesses are required for a Civil Marriage ceremony, however they are recommended.

Walk-Ins Only! No appointment needed, just visit one of our locations below:

  • Central Courthouse
    Midrise Building
    (Marriage Central)

  • 540 SE 3rd Avenue
    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
     Directions To This Location

  • 2nd Floor, Room: 02460

  •  954-831-7283

  • Monday - Friday
    8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

    Excluding Holidays
  • North Regional Courthouse
    (Marriage North)

  • 1600 West Hillsboro Boulevard
    Deerfield Beach, FL 33442
     Directions To This Location

  • Room: 160

  •  954-831-1453

  • Monday - Friday
    8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

    Excluding Holidays
  • South Regional Courthouse
    (Marriage South)

  • 3550 Hollywood Boulevard
    Hollywood, FL 33021
     Directions To This Location

  • Room: 160

  •  954-831-0320

  • Monday - Friday
    8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

    Excluding Holidays
  • West Regional Courthouse
    (Marriage West)

  • 100 North Pine Island Road
    Plantation, FL 33324
     Directions To This Location

  • Room: 180

  •  954-831-6528

  • Monday - Friday
    8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

    Excluding Holidays

Marriage Records Request


The cost to purchase a Marriage License is $5.00 for the first copy and $3.00 for each additional copy.


To obtain a copy of a marriage license filed in Broward County, Florida, submit the following information:

  • Names of both parties (spouse 1 and spouse 2) at the time of application
  • Date of marriage

NOTE: The marriage license division can only assist you with Marriage Licenses filed in Broward County, Florida


Marriage Records by Mail

Send the above information by mail to:

Marriage Division
540 SE 3rd Avenue, Room 02460
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301

Payment methods accepted by mail:

  • Law Firm, Personal, Business, Cashier's and Traveler's checks. Make check payable to: Clerk of Courts
  • Money Orders. Make check payable to: Clerk of Courts
  • All funds must be drawn on a U.S. bank in the appropriate amount.

NOTE: DO NOT SEND CASH. Include a self-addressed stamped business envelope and allow a minimum of two weeks for a response. For further assistance, contact the Marriage Division at (954) 831-7283.


Marriage Records In-Person

Payment methods accepted in-person:

  • Cash
  • Money Orders (Funds must be drawn on a U.S. bank)
  • Credit Cards: American Express; Master Card; Visa

Marriage Licenses issued between 1915 - 1997

A certified copy of a marriage license issued by the Broward County Clerk of Courts from 1915 to 1997 may only be purchased in-person at the Marriage Central Courthouse location below:

Division, Address
and Room Number
Hours of Operation
and Phone Numbers
Marriage Central
Central Courthouse
Midrise Building
540 SE 3rd Avenue
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301

2nd Floor, Room: 02460
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Excluding Holidays
 954-831-7283
Marriage Licenses issued between 1998 - Present

A certified copy of a marriage license issued by the Broward County Clerk of the Courts from 1998 to present can be purchased from any of the following courthouse locations below:

Division, Address
and Room Number
Hours of Operation
and Phone Numbers
Marriage Central
Central Courthouse
Midrise Building
540 SE 3rd Avenue
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301

2nd Floor, Room: 02460
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Excluding Holidays
 954-831-7283
Marriage North
North Regional Courthouse
1600 West Hillsboro Boulevard
Deerfield Beach, FL 33442

Room: 160
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Excluding Holidays
 954-831-1453
Marriage South
South Regional Courthouse
3550 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, FL 33021

Room: 160
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Excluding Holidays
 954-831-0320
Marriage West
West Regional Courthouse
100 North Pine Island Road
Plantation, FL 33324

Room: 180
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Excluding Holidays
 954-831-6528

Fees and Costs


VALID FORMS OF PAYMENT — Cash, Cashier’s Check, Money Order, or American Express, Discover, MasterCard, or Visa credit cards. (Proper identification is required when paying in person by credit card.)

MAKE CHECK AND MONEY ORDERS PAYABLE TO "BROWARD COUNTY CLERK OF COURTS".

NO BUSINESS, OR PERSONAL CHECKS ARE ACCEPTED.

Standard Marriage License Application Fee$86.00
Reduced Marriage License Application Fee$61.00
Original Certificate from Broward Registered Provider is Required 
Marriage Ceremony and Vow Renewal$30.00
Duplicate License Fee$30.00
Amendment of a Marriage License (Requires A Court Order)$30.00
Certified Copy of Recorded Marriage License$3.00
Administration of Oath$3.50
Stamped Envelope$1.00
Photo Copy$1.00
Search Fee$2.00

Frequently Asked Questions



Contact Information

  • Central Courthouse
    Midrise Building
    (Marriage Central)

  • 540 SE 3rd Avenue
    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
     Directions To This Location

  • 2nd Floor, Room: 02460

  •  954-831-7283

  • Monday - Friday
    8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

    Excluding Holidays
  • North Regional Courthouse
    (Marriage North)

  • 1600 West Hillsboro Boulevard
    Deerfield Beach, FL 33442
     Directions To This Location

  • Room: 160

  •  954-831-1453

  • Monday - Friday
    8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

    Excluding Holidays
  • South Regional Courthouse
    (Marriage South)

  • 3550 Hollywood Boulevard
    Hollywood, FL 33021
     Directions To This Location

  • Room: 160

  •  954-831-0320

  • Monday - Friday
    8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

    Excluding Holidays
  • West Regional Courthouse
    (Marriage West)

  • 100 North Pine Island Road
    Plantation, FL 33324
     Directions To This Location

  • Room: 180

  •  954-831-6528

  • Monday - Friday
    8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

    Excluding Holidays